You may not talk like other people,
But Mama hears you.
You may not walk like other people,
But Mama knows you are going places.noah-mom-reading.jpg

You may not learn like other people,
But Mama understands your hunger for learning.
You may not cry like other people,
But Mama knows you hurt.
You may not be afraid like other people,
But Mama knows your fears.

As your Mama,
I know what you’re trying to tell me
When you “talk” or sign.
I know that you walk in your own way,
as slow as it may be, you have places to go
and you’re determined to get there.
I know you’re learning all I teach you,
When you’re sitting on my lap at the computer or reading a book with me,
I know it hurts you,
When others tease you.

As your Mama, I know,
You’re not afraid of monsters or the dark,
Cause your fears are bigger.
I know you’re not like everyone else.
You’re different and special,
I know you haven’t lost your innocence yet,
but you are wise beyond your years in some ways.
I know you can make people laugh and smile
Without saying a single word.

As your Mama, I know,
It’s not always going to be easy for you
I know you will need me to
Cry for you when you can’t cry for yourself
And fight for you when you can’t fight for yourself.

And I know you will need me to hold your hand along the way
If you’re frightened.


I don’t know how I know all this,
But as your Mama I just know.

